Posted by: Abby | March 13, 2011

Response #2 – Couch Potato

I am a dog person – without a doubt – so this week my blog is in response to Jenna’s blog post, on My Grey Obsession, about couch potatoes.  I know a good deal about couch potatoes.  Meet Benny:

Like Jenna’s dog, Benny was adopted. When I was 16 my parents finally gave in to the constant badgering about getting a new dog. We picked Benny up from the Washington Animal Rescue League (WARL), which is a great place to look for pets. They even have a quiz to help you find the perfect pet for you and your lifestyle. WARL found poor little Benny, a West Highland White Terrier, wandering around in West Virginia, all alone with no one to love him. That’s where my family came in! Now Benny is spoiled rotten and I can honestly say that the house revolves around him.

My sister, brother and I often joke that Benny is the favorite child, but a quick visit to my parent’s house would show that it isn’t really a joke. There are pictures everywhere, every room has at least one Westie-themed trinket, and at last count, there were 5 doggie beds.  Benny has always been a major couch potato and sleeps most of the day.  But recently we found out Benny was sick : (, so he has been even sleepier since getting treatment and recovering. Now he is feeling a little better and getting back to his old self, but the scare made us all realize how much we love him and how big of a role this little guy has is all of our lives.


Responses

  1. Abby I love the post and the pictures! Benny is beyond adorable! All my other dogs growing up have been rescues and I feel like that creates an even deeper bond with them.


Leave a comment

Categories