Posted by: Abby | March 27, 2011

Response # 3 – Summer!

Despite the ongoing warnings about upcoming snow, spring is definitely on its way…which means summer is close behind. I couldn’t be happier because I love warm weather, the beach, and all of the outdoor activities that summer brings with it. As I was reading through my classmates’ blogs, I came across a post on GoldRushed about taking the time to maintain your health and stay happy.  For me, summer is the perfect time for that. Even though that feeling of summer freedom has faded since entering the real world, it’s still a chance to relax and reward myself for the hard work throughout the year. But summer is still a few months away, so I decided to see if I was following some of the tips in the blog post.

Get quality sleep – This is one I need to work on; especially since I put off work/homework until the very end of the day

Don’t procrastinate – See above : )

Occasionally treat yourself – I definitely have that one covered (spoiler alert: chocolate chip walnut brownies coming up on the blog this week), but maybe I should work on the occasionally part.

Spend time outdoors – this is one of my favorite tips! To make sure we take advantage of the weather this summer, I recently got together with a few of my friends to plan fun summer activities (I know, it goes against the tip to not over plan, but we’re just a group of enthusiastic  planners :)).

Here are some of the things we have planned so far:

White water rafting in West Virginia (their slogan “Wild and Wonderful” is really true) with Cheat River Outfitters

 

Cooling off in the Cheat River, 2008

Getting super muddy at the Warrior Dash

Wine festival at Linganore Winecellars

Heading to the beach (hopefully more than once!)

Possibly going to the SweetLife Festival

Thanks for the tips, GoldRushed! Your post reminded me how excited I am for summer!


Responses

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the post! Trust me, I haven’t mastered any of my tips, still a work in progress. White water rafting sounds really cool, I’ll have to check that out. And, I’ve been hearing a lot about the SweetLife festival.

  2. […] saved up! I’ve already listed ways I plan to spend some of those days in my post about summer, but with the weather getting warmer I’m coming up with more and more plans.  I can’t […]


Leave a comment

Categories