Posted by: Abby | April 6, 2011

Week #10 – Chocolate Chip Walnut Brownies

This week I decided to make a little treat for my grandma.  We share a love of chocolate so I settled on brownies and decided to add chocolate chips and walnuts.

Here’s the recipe (modified from Chocolate Fudge Brownies, Nestle’s Very Best Baking):

  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 2/3 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350° F. Grease 13 x 9-inch baking pan.  Combine flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl.  In a large, microwave-safe bowl, combine sugar, butter and water.  Microwave on full power for 4 to 5 minutes or until mixture bubbles, stirring once.  Add cocoa powder and stir until combined.

Stir eggs, one at a time, into the large bowl. Stir in vanilla extract. Add flour mixture and stir well. Stir in nuts and chocolate chips. Pour into prepared baking pan.

Bake for 15 to 20 minutes. (Aim for 15 if you like them extra gooey like me.)

My sister wouldn’t taste one because she complained that adding walnuts ruins brownies and they were too fudgy.  Crazy talk!  So that got me wondering what others think when it comes to brownies…

These pair well with a nice white....milk, that is

A closer look at the gooey brownies

I think my grandma was more excited that I baked her something than she was about the actual brownies (she’s “watching her figure”), but she loved the one she tasted and promised that all the visitors she gave one to had nothing but good things to say.  I believe her too – since they were all eaten in a matter of days.  Good thing I enjoyed the brownies that made it into the photo shoot.

In a baking mood? Here are some more yummy recipes from foodbuzz

<div style=”padding:5px;”>http://www.foodbuzz.com/widgets/top9/small</div&gt;


Responses

  1. Response Blog #3: BLS Bakes.

    Response Blog #3: BLS Bakes.

  2. Loved this post, I did a response to it about Janie’s “treats” – http://bit.ly/lkJeID


Leave a comment

Categories