Posted by: Abby | March 29, 2011

Week #9 – Blueberry Streusel Scones

This week in our blogs we’ve been asked to write about the social media platforms and tools we use most. For me that’s easy: Facebook.  Since I first discovered it in my freshman dorm room I don’t think I’ve gone more than a few days without visiting the site.  Facebook has changed drastically (remember that one single wall that anyone could go in an edit?), and along the way I’ve picked up a lot of other tools. BBM used to give Facebook a run for its money…until the iPhone came to Verizon and stole all of my BBM friends.  I’ve also recently created a Twitter account, but Facebook still remains the winner.

 

I'm not the only one....

With social media, I stick to what I know and love.  The same is true with baking.  So far, with the exception of the original banana bread post, all of my recipes have been chocolaty desserts.  I don’t exactly see anything wrong with that, but I thought it would be a good idea to switch things up a bit.  The solution: blueberry scones.  Quite a leap! I can’t say the idea was entirely my own.  I was talking up these delicious cranberry white chocolate scones I made a few months ago to my taste tester (who just celebrated a birthday) and I got a not-so-subtle hint that breakfast pastries featuring fruit would be a much appreciated birthday treat.  With a sigh, I figured I would take a break from the world of gooey, moist, chocolaty baked goods (mmm…just typing that makes me second guess my decision) and try something new.

I found a delicious-sounding recipe for Blueberry Streusel Scones from JoyOfBaking.com (the same site I found the Nanaimo Bars recipe).  The streusel toppings add just the right amount of sweetness.  But beware: scones can quickly go from yummy to heavy, tasteless rocks, so it’s really important not to over mix.  Just combine until the dough holds together – and be careful not to smash the blueberries.  Well, here they are! The non-chocolaty baked goods that got rave reviews (the picture doesn’t do them justice):

Blueberry Scones

Just like I tried something different, so many of the baking blogs I love pull in Twitter, Facebook and other social media tools to reach readers in new and different ways.  Now that I’ve branched out in the baking world, I’ll try and focus on doing the same with my blog 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories