Posted by: Abby | April 5, 2011

Response #4 – Yelp!

I just got finished reading Brittany’s post on word-of-mouth advertising and a new restaurant, Standard. She mentioned that she uses foursquare to learn about places in the area and read reviews and tips from other foursquare users.  Although I haven’t yet tried the tool (I can barely figure out how to use Facebook Places on my phone), her reasons for using it were really convincing and led me to think about the idea of recommendations. Before trying out a new restaurant, hair salon, dentist, or book people are inclined to ask others what they think. I guess part of this is human nature – we want others to weigh in – but it also gives us the chance to hear honest feedback from someone who has nothing to gain based on our choice (besides the satisfaction of a happy friend).

Standard's Yelp Page - already 13 reviews

If I’m trying out a new place, I usually check out Yelp first.  With the Internet we have millions of sources just a Google (or Bing) search away, yet there’s something more credible and real about reading a review posted by Christy R. from Bethesda, Md (a complete stranger) than a company’s website or a formal review.  The same goes with Facebook and Twitter; reading comments from “someone like me” has a much stronger impact than an ad. So sticking with the word-of-mouth mentality, I think I’ll check out Standard, since it comes highly recommended. : )


Responses

  1. Can you make these again. We’re drooling over here.


Leave a comment

Categories