Posted by: Abby | April 19, 2011

Response #5 – Sick Days

I was reading a classmate’s blog on how using sick days when you’re actually sick feels like a waste.  I completely agree and must admit that I am a sick day hoarder.  I hate using those precious hours on their intended purpose.  Instead, I like to save them and splurge or use them on a last-minute day off…I hope my boss doesn’t read this 🙂

It’s a little obsessive the way I watch the hours pile up, divide by 8 and celebrate how many days I’ve saved up! I’ve already listed ways I plan to spend some of those days in my post about summer, but with the weather getting warmer I’m coming up with more and more plans.  I can’t wait to spend those hours at the beach, catching up on much-needed sleep, or even just sitting on the porch enjoying the warm weather.

Depending on how you look at it, I am pretty (un)lucky and usually get sick on the weekends. The last time I actually felt sick at work, I raced to the walk-in clinic and then back home to work from bed as I fought the urge to fall asleep.  I refused to let a sinus infection ruin my vacation plans!!

But I’ve convinced myself that these pseudo sick days can still count as sick days….I like to call them mental health days.  Sounds completely legitimate to me!

Danielle – I hope you feel better so you can use those sick days for a fun day off!


Leave a comment

Categories