Posted by: Abby | February 8, 2011

Week #3 – Brunch, Canada & Maple Butter

This week in class we’re having a local blogger come to talk about social media. Finding out about one of her blogs, Brunch in the City, couldn’t have come at a more perfect time. This weekend my friend Stacie, who I haven’t seen in a few years, will be in town and I need to choose a place for a great meal and a major catch-up session.  I have a few options in mind, but will definitely be reading through the blog before I make any decisions. I’m so excited to see her and I can’t wait to try out a new brunch spot in DC.

Now for dessert, I have some disappointing news (mostly for my panel of taste-testers).  I didn’t bake this week. I know, already skipping the baking on week two…but it’s only because I was too busy enjoying myself in beautiful Mont Tremblant, Quebec.

The weather was perfect, the skiing was great (only 1 big wipeout), and the village looked like a postcard.

But the trip wasn’t completely without dessert.  On the last day we stopped into Cabane à Sucre de la Montagne to try some authentic Canadian maple syrup. While we were looking around, we were offered a taste of something amazing: maple butter. Maple butter is a confection made from maple syrup, cooked until it is smooth and creamy and delicious.  I didn’t think maple syrup could be any better, but the maple butter tasted so good and was definitely a lot less sticky than maple in the syrup form.  Now I’m on a search for a recipe that calls for maple butter – if you have any, please post a comment and let me know! I promise to actually turn on my oven next week.  : )


Responses

  1. It sounds like you had a great time in Canada. I’m glad you are back in the USA and hope to be a taster for your next experiment.

  2. […] This week I decided to bake something in honor of my recent trip to Canada. In my Week 3 post, I wrote about my first visit to the beautiful village of Mont Tremblant – and my first trip […]


Leave a comment

Categories